Helpful Tips & Links To Improve Your Social Media Marketing

11 Jan

I have always been an avid Facebooker, and when I was asked to manage the social media for Wright Business Technologies I knew this was going to be right up my alley. They already had a basic business page created, so my task take the raw materials and turn our page into an instantly eye-catching page that our fans, clients, and prospects, would want to connect with. After doing some initial research to check out what my competition and large corporations were doing with their Facebook pages, I was left completely in shock. Companies like Dell, Chick-fil-a, American Eagle, and the list runs on and on…had basically turned their pages into elaborate mini-websites that looked like they cost fortunes to design. I must have been stuck in my own personal Facebook bubble because I had no idea you even had these kinds of capabilities with Facebook.

I was star-struck and slightly overwhelmed at the possibilities that now lay ahead for our WBT Facebook page.  To prevent getting ahead of myself, I created a starter list of things I wanted to first accomplish on our page:

  • An attention grabbing logo for our profile picture
  • Engaging wall posts 3 times a week
  • A default Welcome landing tab
  • Promo offers tab to incentivize fans to interact with our page

With my list set I turned to my best resource for how to get these things I wanted—Google.  I highly recommend you do some research if you feel stuck and remind yourself social media is FREE. Every time I search the internet for problems I have with my social media sites, I find the answer and discover new things I want to do as well. Here are some of the helpful sites I found. Let me know which ones you find helpful by rating them, so I can publish more articles from the ones you like!

www.facebook.com/help 

Under Edit Settings Tab on your fan page there is a Help Tab which take you to this site where there is a discussion board of questions and answers. This is helpful if you don’t know where to begin when starting a Facebook profile or page but personally, I feel it isn’t as helpful for many advance features.

www.wchingya.com 

I actually stumbled upon this site will searching through pages on Facebook and I am so glad I did. Ching Ya writes a blog on how to do everything on all social media sites and most of her blog feeds through to her Facebook page as well. She is a social media genius and has provided step by step instructions for almost every issue you could have. If you don’t find the answer to the question you are looking for, you can post your own question and she answers it almost instantly. This is my favorite social media help site I have found so far.

www.socialmediaexaminer.com

If you are working on any social media page for business I highly suggest you subscribe to this blog. There are great ideas and tricks to get your ideas flowing if you are stuck on what to do next to your social media sites. Check out this article that helped me get ideas for how to make a successful Facebook business page: http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/top-10-facebook-pages/ 

www.slideshare.net 

If you don’t want to sit and watch a YouTube video you have to check out this site. There are helpful slides that you can search through for just about anything, and you can share them on any of your social media pages or create your own. I will definitely be using this site to create a slide of my own and I’ll let you know how it goes. Check this one out that I found helpful:

I hope you all enjoy my first blog post! I have so much fun experimenting with our WBT Facebook page, and I am thrilled to be sharing my experience with you. I hope you use my experience to start or improve your social media marketing and if you have any questions along the way, I’d be more than happy to help!

One Response to “Helpful Tips & Links To Improve Your Social Media Marketing”

  1. Angela Speight January 27, 2011 at 3:57 PM #

    Congrats on the new blog, Brooklyn! Looking forward to hearing more about your social media “lessons learned” ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

